NOT SURE WHY I NOTICED THIS

The story is about the retirement of Prince Phillip and is actually quite good with lots of pics.

But this one stood out:

suits

 

“Why?” you may ask.

I am far from a clothes hound and dress in typical “Florida chic” ….. shorts and a t-shirt with sneakers.

But one of my jobs required me to wear a suit and tie (yes, while in the USAF) for 6 years so I started paying attention to how Europeans wore suits and sport jackets.

Ours would have a slit in the back allowing the bottom part to open more freely. Some would have no split. But Europeans (at that time) invariably had what I called a “flap” in the back.

The suits were also different.

So when I saw this picture I could not help notice the differences.

Note the Prince’s coat has no pocket flaps and four buttons on the sleeve. The guy behind him appears to have only three buttons.

The Prince does not button his bottom button and the guy to the right of him buttons all the way down.

Note, too, some pockets are parallel to the ground and others slanted. (guy in center)

The Prince’s coat appears to be solid through the back yet the guy to the far right looks like his has a “flap.”

All this stuff means something.

I just don’t know what.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to NOT SURE WHY I NOTICED THIS

  1. opaquelypellucid says:

    “All this stuff means something.” Yup, it does! It means the guys in the white coats that button all the way to the floor may be coming for you … 🙂

  2. antzinpantz says:

    Very funny…….:-)

  3. bogsidebunny says:

    Looks like the auld Prince of proper shops at Robert Hall

    Les and Mary liked them.

  4. antzinpantz says:

    I remember them. Used to buy clothes there.

    However, today, this would be a P.R. nightmare: NEVER show empty parking lots!!

Comments are closed.