THIS IS NICE (?)

HS senior invites girl with Downs’ to the prom.

Says he didn’t do it for attention so why did he tweet about it?

nacho-prom
A high school senior asked his best friend’s little sister with Down syndrome to be his prom date in a heartwarming ‘promposal’.

Shaedon Wedel, a senior at Newton High School in Newton, Kansas, asked Carlie Wittman, 15, to attend his last prom with him on Friday.

Although Wittman has Down syndrome, she was just like any other freshman girl and eagerly accepted the offer from her older brother’s best friend.

Wedel, 18, showed up to the teenager’s doorstep with flowers, Doritos and a shirt that read: ‘I know I’m NACHO your typical Dorito but… I’m going to be CHEESY and ask: will you go to prom with me?’

As Wittman sees what’s unfolding, she excitedly says: ‘Oh my gosh, oh my gosh!’

Doritos are Wittman’s favorite snack, something that Wedel knew she would love after knowing her for the past seven years.

He said to KWCH12: ‘She’s brought nothing but joy to my life. Anyone who’s ever around her, she makes them laugh, she always has a smile on her face. She’s amazing.’

Speaking of Wittman’s Down syndrome, Wedel added: ‘They deserve everything that everyone else does too.’

The shirt read: ‘I know I’m NACHO your typical Dorito but… I’m going to be CHEESY and ask: will you go to prom with me?’

He told Yahoo Style the plan was originally for him and Wittman’s older brother Carson to take the high school freshman to prom together.

Wedel said: ‘My best friend Carson and I were planning to take Carlie to prom together at the beginning of this school year.

‘As [Carson] met his girlfriend throughout the year, we decided that I would just be the one to take Carlie.’

Wedel said he Wittman are planning on going in the same prom group as her older brother and his girlfriend.

He said: ‘It will be an absolute blast. I just want her to have the Cinderella princess prom that she has been saying she wants.’

The sweet ‘promposal’ was captured and posted online. It has since has gone viral with more than 110,000 retweets and liked more than 480,000 times.

Wedel said of his prom date: ‘She’s brought nothing but joy to my life. Anyone who’s ever around her, she makes them laugh, she always has a smile on her face. She’s amazing’

Wedel has seen a flood of support and said:’I have been receiving direct messages on Twitter for the past couple of days, receiving almost nothing but positive comments.

‘Of course, there are the remarks saying I did this for the attention. That did not cross my mind previous to posting or even asking her to prom.

‘I believe the attention will spread the awareness that people with disabilities deserve and need that same attention that others get. I am thankful for all the positivity that has come out of this.’

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to THIS IS NICE (?)

  1. BobF says:

    Of course he did it for attention or else he would have done it and kept quite about it.

  2. dekare says:

    She still has to put out…right?

  3. dekare says:

    Do you think she will go “down” on him?

Comments are closed.