GOT LITTLE TODAY

Once a year I go on this massive crusade of cooking…..and cooking…..and cooking…and… cooking. Then freeze it all.

Takes about two weeks. Lasts for a year.

Well, today’s the last day of that epic. I need a rest.

Here’s how it works:

For a week prior to the cook-a-thon I’m at it organizing what I will make, the order the meals will be made, preparing shopping lists organized by protein type so I could do all dishes with pork at one time, chicken another, beef another, beans another, etc. Notes and lists and recipes everywhere.

21 different recipes for soups, chops, spaghetti and other sauces, chilis, casseroles, stews, etc.

Then I go on the first stage of shopping very early in the morning and become pals with the checkout lady.

The cooking is usually 2 or 3 recipes per day; one utilizes the crock pot and the other two, stove top.

Prep all vegetables (peel, wash, chop, etc.), fire up the range, then begin the real work.

Usually takes all day and that includes finishing them, cooling their pots/containers in cold water, transferring them to those small 3-cup tupperware containers, and putting them in the fridge for final cooling then doing all the dishes.

When done, I prep for the following day’s recipes.

Next morning, the first thing is to get the containers from the fridge into the freezer top and begin the process anew ending with filling the now empty fridge space with the new recipes.

The third morning usually entails getting a new batch of shopping done but first, what was in the freezer gets taken out, dumped from their containers, double wrapped in foil, labeled, and put in the deep freeze kept at -10 degrees in specific containers/shelves. Locations are logged on a separate sheet along with quantity of wrapped container-sized packets for each.

And then those fucking tupperware containers need washing. What a pain in the ass!!

Oh, did I forget to mention that usually each recipe makes for 18-30 servings? REAL servings. Not those pussifed servings in the recipe. Each tupperware holds about two servings’ worth.

Then it’s time to transfer the stuff from the fridge to the freezer-top unit and more shopping. By this time it’s early afternoon so too late to cook again. Time for errands or light yard work.

That’s pretty much the cycle and I usually run through it 5 times.

The end result? I have about 210 double wrapped, 2 serving packages in my deep freeze; enough to last me and my mom, yes, I cook for her, all year. She not only eats a little less than me but also usually eats out with a friend once a week and with me another day and I usually take one of those days and do a mini-fast where all I eat is a salad so if you’re doing math you’ll see how 210 goes into 365 for two people.

It took me two tries over two years to nail the formula down and I’ve been doing it about 4 years now.

The benefits? My mom gets to stay out of doing heavy work in the kitchen and I only “cook” once a year. Of course, side dishes like rices, pasta, taters, etc, have to be made depending on what’s on offer but that’s no big deal. One pot. Two minutes prep, 15 minutes waiting for it to cook, minimal washing up.

I’m off to rest now. My back hurts.

I’ve set up an open thread where you can vent, bitch, talk about news items you want, etc.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to GOT LITTLE TODAY

  1. bogsidebunny says:

    I go to the supermarket in a large U-Haul box van. I empty out the toilet paper supply, freezer section, wine and beer area. Takes me about 4 hours and lasts for a year.

    Now if I could only go to the local whore house and do the same I wouldn’t have to leave the house at all.

  2. antzinpantz says:

    Have you tried 1-900-hores-r-us? They might do home service. 🙂

  3. redneckgeezer says:

    Just hope your freezer doesn’t fail… Great way to save time in the long run. I do the same on a smaller scale about once every 2-3 months.

  4. antzinpantz says:

    Yeah, I wonder sometimes what I’d do if it failed. Totally screwed as I do not have a genset but unless there’s a hurricane right on top of us power is seldom a problem.

  5. opaquelypellucid says:

    Have you ever thought about marketing your procedures? With a bit more detail and step by step instructions you have what appears to be a mini book product that you could sell. Preppers and one or two person households would eat it up! Pun intended. I agree with rng though. A backup generator wouldn’t be a bad add-on to the whole package. A day or two without electricity and all your efforts would end up as garden compost.

  6. antzinpantz says:

    As I said, I do think about that power outage thing but I am counting on having “mass” on my side. I tend to keep the freezer full all the time and if power went out the first thing I would do is cover it in thick blankets to act as an insulator. So long as I do not open it, the stuff in there would keep more than a couple of days. Plus, if hurricanes/storms were on the horizon I’d go to my local ice dealer and buy 100 pounds of dry ice a few days ahead of time, stuff it in the freezer AND fridge, and hope for the best. My luck I’d buy a generator and the fucking thing would not work. OK, maybe a small, cheap gen just for the freezer……

  7. Sears says:

    Hey, when are you coming to our house and cook up a bunch of food for us? LOL

  8. antzinpantz says:

    I don’t come cheap!! 🙂

Comments are closed.